Northumberland-Peterborough South receives over $5.1 million in Emergency Funding from the Government of Ontario

Published on August 12, 2020

(Picture from 2019 transit announcement)

Assistance will help ensure the delivery of critical public services


PORT HOPE, ON — The Ontario government, in partnership with the federal government, is delivering on its commitment to provide urgently needed emergency assistance to Ontario's 444 municipalities. Communities in Northumberland-Peterborough South will receive over $5.1 million in funding to address municipal operating pressures related to the COVID-19 pandemic as part of the first round of emergency funding under the Safe Restart Agreement.

Ontario secured up to $4 billion in emergency assistance for municipalities through the Safe Restart Agreement, which gives them the support and flexibility they need to protect the health and well-being of their communities, while continuing to deliver critical public services as the province continues on the path of renewal, growth and economic recovery.

Funding allocations for municipalities in Northumberland-Peterborough South:

· Township of Alnwick/Haldimand, $207,600

· Township of Asphodel-Norwood, $119,000

· Municipality of Brighton, $326,600

· Municipality of Clarington, $2,135,500

· Town of Cobourg, $571,800 and an additional $97,780 to support transit operations

· Township of Cramahe, $174,600 and an additional $16,922 to support transit operations

· Township of Hamilton, $300,200

· Township of Otonabee-South Monaghan, $194,800

· Municipality of Port Hope, $451,400 and an additional $54,807 to support transit operations

· Municipality of Trent Hills, $440,600 and an additional $17,436 to support transit operations


· County of Northumberland, $2,472,900

· County of Peterborough, $2,203,600 and an additional $15,437 to support transit operations

· Region of Durham, $14,551,200 and an additional $8,405,396 to support transit operations


“Our government knows that the success of our municipalities is vital to our economic recovery,” said MPP David Piccini. “Over the past number of months, I’ve convened a weekly call with our municipalities in Northumberland-Peterborough South where we have talked about the important issues facing our residents. I will continue to advocate for our rural municipalities as we emerge stronger than ever and work collectively to lead Ontario’s economic recovery.”

In September, Ontario’s 444 municipalities will receive $695 million in Phase 1 funding for municipal operating pressures. This funding will be allocated on a per household basis and would be shared 50/50 between upper- and lower-tier municipalities. Up to $695 million in additional funding will be available through Phase 2 for municipalities that have COVID-related financial impacts that exceed the initial per household allocation provided under Phase 1.

“I am pleased that our MPP David Piccini has been able to secure over $5 million in funding for our municipalities,” said MP Philip Lawrence. “Our municipalities have faced severe financial challenges as result of the pandemic and this support will be greatly appreciated. The funding will also support our communities’ economic recovery which is of vital importance for our constituents.”

In addition to the support for municipalities, the government is providing over $660 million in the first phase of transit funding to the 110 municipalities with transit systems. The funding can be used to provide immediate relief from transit pressures, such as lower ridership, as well as for new costs due to COVID-19, such as enhanced cleaning and masks for staff. In the second phase, additional allocations will be provided based on expenses incurred to ensure the funding meets the needs of municipalities. As part of the Safe Restart Agreement with the federal government, up to $2 billion is being provided to support public transit in Ontario.



· The federal Safe Restart Agreement provides $19 billion to Canadian provinces and territories to help ensure a strong recovery and support frontline health care, families, and communities. Across all streams of federal investment, the Safe Restart Agreement provides over $7 billion in funding and in-kind supports to Ontario.

· The agreement provides up to a total of $4 billion in funding to the province’s 444 municipalities.

· The province is making a contribution of 50 per cent to the municipal supports and transit funding available through the Safe Restart Agreement, with the federal government contributing the other 50 per cent.

· Ontario is also providing municipal service managers and Indigenous housing partners an additional $212 million under the Social Services Relief Fund to help protect vulnerable people from COVID-19. This investment can help them protect homeless shelter staff and residents, expand rent support programming and create longer-term housing solutions. This brings the government’s total Social Services Relief Fund investment provided to service managers and Indigenous program administrators to $510 million, and builds on our COVID-19 Action Plan to Protect Vulnerable Ontarians. Locally, the Region of Durham received $2,832,100, the County of Northumberland received $1,397,700 and the City of Peterborough received $1,101,100 in Social Services Relief funding.

· Throughout the COVID-19 pandemic, the Ontario government has worked with municipalities to provide them with the tools and supports they need, including enabling them to hold virtual council and local board meetings, and temporarily extending expiring development charge bylaws to ensure they could continue to collect this vital source of revenue.



Joint Communiqué ― Safe Restart Agreement

Provide your input on the economic impacts of COVID-19

Visit Ontario’s website to learn more about how the province continues to protect the people of Ontario from COVID-19